As 2010 comes to a close I find myself looking back at the year and evaluating how well I practiced what I preached as an IT leader.  Not only do I believe that all successful IT executives need to become successful at MicroTech Stewardship, I wanted to capture a few other skills I believe we all need to focus on as leaders.  Below is the list I came up with:

1. Promote Micro Technology Stewardship within the organization through leadership.  In order to develop good Microtech Stewards under you, leaders have to really commit to leadership and recognize that they are always “on stage”.  In fact, I saw that both Gartner and Korn/Ferry’s research reveals that the highest performing CIOs are effective because they embrace the idea that everything they need to accomplish will be achieved through people, by people, and with people. I know you have seen this said before, but as a leader, we have to ” build people, not systems”.

2. Think Strategic, Deliver Clear Direction. A high-performing technology leader is a complex and (hopefully) creative thinker but when it comes to leading, the message must be clear, concise and easy to execute against.

3. Abandon your 70s School of Management. 70s school of management is not a concept I have explored in this blog and I hope to in the future but it is a term I coined to describe the old school “do what I say, when I say and tell me when it is done” leaders that still exist in organizations.  Today, technology leaders need to be more collaborative than ever in order to inspire people both inside and outside their organization in order to be successful in executing against your vision.  Inspire your people to consistently deliver their best work through collaboration and motivation, inspire them to feel like they are involved in something exciting.

4. Lead sideways. Successful leaders spend a great deal of their time and energy managing relationships that exist sideways: relationships with peers, vendors, and customers.  As in the above point, collaboration is key in driving results.

5.Be a Master of Communication. Constantly reiterate your core message and values. Focus on clarity, consistency, and simplicity.  Do it with passion and make sure your message is not only understood but also felt.

Well that is my short list, what do you have to add?

