The architecture and justification of an EAI solution is taking up a lot of my time lately and I felt I needed to share a bit of it here on this Blog. 

From a business perspective, I have seen EAI defined as “A business computing term for the plans, methods,and tools aimed at modernizing, consolidating, and coordinating the computer applications in an enterprise”.  That’s nice, but I like it better when we use the following to help round out the description “EAI is really a complete stack, encompassing all types of integration patterns. It’s really a concept rather than a class of technology”.

So since it is not really a technology, you have to dig deeper for the components of an EAI environment, I am not going to go into all of them at this time, but I will say that in my research to replace a code based integration methodology, the XML appliance is standing out as a clear winner over legacy integrations.  At the risk of sharing too much, we are showing costs roughly 1/10th of those required by legacy code based connections  when using an XML device.

Oh and did I say I prefer it as a SaaS?  I think I will talk about SaaS XML and BI in a future Blog.  Love it!

