So in my profile I say I support and preach  the benefits of “Micro Tech Stewardship”.  Well, what is “Micro Technology Stewardship” you may ask…

In order to understand “Micro Technology Stewardship” I need to provide the  Wenger, White and Smith (2007) definition of technology stewardship which is:

“Technology stewards are people with enough experience of the workings of a community to understand its technology needs, and enough experience with technology to take leadership in addressing those needs.”

I also think it would be good to include a definition of stewardship from Merriam – Webster which is:

“the conducting, supervising, or managing of something; especially : the careful and responsible management of something entrusted to one’s care.”

So my definition of “Micro Technology Stewardship” removes the community aspect from the Wenger, White and Smith definition and simply applies the concept to today’s businesses.

Next post on this topic will get into this concept at the business level and show some examples.  In the meantime, let me know your thoughts about what you are seeing out there today regarding technology stewardship.

